You’re Going Down McHale

The Timberwolves have reached an agreement with Kurt Rambis to be their new head coach.  Rambis, long considered to be Phil Jackson’s replacement was lured by the length of the deal and a little something called revenge.  The deal is reported to pay Rambis about $2 million per year, but Rambis is getting a lot more than money, he’s finally getting a chance to hit McHale back for that viscous clothesline.

It happened during game four of the NBA finals.  A series in which the Lakers were dominating with their “Showtime” basketball until McHale’s dirty play altered the series.  Kurt Rambis was going to the basket for a layup and Kevin McHale gave him a clothesline from hell, causing a fight to break out and giving the Celtics the advantage they needed to win the Championship. 

People held Rambis back, so he didn’t get a chance to hit McHale back, but it was just a matter of time.  Now, Twenty-five years later, Rambis took the Timberwolves coaching job.  The same job McHale was asked not to return to.  Twenty-five years later Rambis is viewed as one of the few bright spots in the organization, when for so long McHale was a black eye.  Now Rambis has a chance to clothesline McHale back by doing something McHale wasn’t able to do, make the Wolves respectable. 

8 Comments

Filed under Timberwolves

8 responses to “You’re Going Down McHale

  1. TimAllen

    The Timberwolves have reached an agreement with Kurt Rambis to be their new head coach. Rambis, long considered to be Phil Jackson’s replacement (need a comma here) was lured by the length of the deal and a little something called revenge. The deal is reported to pay Rambis about $2 million per year, but Rambis is getting a lot more than money, (run on sentence) he’s finally getting a chance to hit McHale back for that viscous (what is a viscous clothesline? are you saying McHale’s clothesline was fluid?) clothesline.

    It happened during game four of the NBA finals (should be capitalized). A series in which the Lakers were dominating with their “Showtime” basketball until McHale’s dirty play altered the series. (sentence fragment) Kurt Rambis was going to the basket for a layup and Kevin McHale gave him a clothesline from hell, causing a fight to break out and giving the Celtics the advantage they needed to win the Championship.

    People held Rambis back, so he didn’t get a chance to hit McHale back, but it was just a matter of time. Now, Twenty-five (no capitalization) years later, Rambis took (error in tense) the Timberwolves coaching job. The same job McHale was asked not to return to. (sentence fragment) Twenty-five years later (need a comma here) Rambis is viewed as one of the few bright spots in the organization, when for so long McHale was a black eye (run on sentence). Now (need a comma here) Rambis has a chance to clothesline McHale back by doing something McHale wasn’t able to do, (run on sentence) make the Wolves respectable.

    Your blog posts are really in need of an editor. Oh, and here’s what you said in your Canis Hoopus post:

    “Just to help you out, a grammatical mistake would be a missing period, a comma, misusing a comma splice and so many more, including the misuse of an m dash.”

    Actually, no, all of the examples you gave in that paragraph are not grammatical mistakes. Those examples are punctuation errors. A grammatical mistake would go something like this:

    “This blog posts are the worstest blogs posts in the entire world.” You get it now?

    • Kevin Finley

      Congratulations Timmy, you found four errors out of fifteen posts and there may be a few more, so start digging. The only request I have is that you call out errors and not take stabs in the dark. You missed on a few of those, but I like the effort. Let’s not dwell on how you’re wrong, let’s give you another pat on the back. You’re right, a comma, comma splice, period and m dash are punctuation errors. The problem is and I don’t know why you can’t grasp this, but they are also grammatical errors. A punctuation error is a grammatical mistake. Additionally, the Easter Bunny and Santa Clause are not real.

      What about syntax? I’m still wondering about syntax. I’m wondering if we’ll ever get to it. I’m wondering if you have any idea what it is. I’m hoping you submit it to the blog. I’m hoping to post it. I’m hoping it would be grammatically correct and not have a single punctuation error. I’m wondering if you are hoping the same thing. I’m wondering if any of this makes sense.

      The Warmest Regards,
      David Kahn

      • Tim Allen

        No, I actually found 11 errors in the above post. I have not read all of your posts and I’ve only edited one.

        Tell me which ones I missed on please? I’d love for you to explain to me how to proofread, since you seem to be so good at it.

        Syntax is about the order of words in a sentence and how words need to be written a certain way to convey certain messages. For instance, if I said, “This blog really sucks,” the word really would be enhancing the amount of this blog’s suckiness, whereas if I said, “This blog sucks, really,” I would be assuring those in doubt that this blog really does suck.

        You understand now?

      • Kevin Finley

        Hey Timmy,

        How are you? I’m glad you made your way back to the blog and were able to figure out what syntax means. You defined syntax pretty well and it only took you two days. The problem you ran into was your word usage. What does suckiness mean?

        By the way, did you ever figure out the difference between a grammatical mistake and a punctuation error?

        I’d love to go over the mistakes you called out, but there are some road blocks. It took you two days to figure out syntax means and you don’t know what grammatical mistake is. “the word really would be enhancing the amount of this blog’s suckiness” You used this to explain syntax. I bet you can’t say it four times–what a tongue twister. There’s more mistakes in that one sentence than all sixteen of my posts. You missed a comma after really. You used enhancing to explain what a word accomplishes and garbled your way to suckiness. Suckiness is by far the best part of your comment. Your comment is the most awesomest thing ever!

        What’s this “You understand now?”

      • TimAllen

        You certainly aren’t short on self delusion and visions of grandeur, I’ll give you that.

        Weren’t you the one who said, only a couple of days ago mind you, that you didn’t spend all day on a blog? Yet, I take two days to respond to your blog, and I’m stalling? Good stuff.

        I already told you the difference between a grammatical mistake and a punctuation error. I didn’t figure I had to repeat myself. You can go look it up in a book if you really don’t remember.

        As for your “editing” of my sentence…there would not be a comma after “really”. That wouldn’t make any sense because it would look like this: “the word really, would be enhancing the amount of this blog’s suckiness.” What possible reason would you have for putting a comma in that position? I don’t know what “garbled your way to suckiness” means. Maybe you don’t know the definition of enhanced and it confused you.

        I don’t mean to be so harsh on you. A couple of people who have been watching this drama have told me to lay off, since you’re probably just some 14 year old kid with a free blog, a cocky attitude and an underdeveloped vocabulary. Besides, with a blog titled “Fire David Kahn”, you’re obviously going for the “shock-and-awe” approach to publicity. So, if you want, we can call a truce and you can get back to what you do best.

      • Kevin Finley

        Good Morning,

        You do realize it’s possible to stall while still sitting on blogs all day, right? Nobody is forcing you to comment each time you read a post. I realize what you told me, but you’re wrong. A punctuation error is a grammatical mistake, sorry buddy. I didn’t make the rules up, I just follow them.

        You’re right, I have no idea what suckiness means. I’m not sure how to enhance a word either. I know how to place emphases on one. I know how to enhance my appearance. How do you enhance words? Do you dress them up? Do you put them in a cool font? I do know what garble means. It’s a word for people with a limited vocabulary. Smart people litter their sentences with words like that.

        I love your last paragraph. It tops suckiness in so many ways. It’s missing “Now you understand”, but you can’t be perfect. There are so many great lines, making it hard to choose a favorite. Timmy, lay off, because you’re being too harsh. I love that you want to call a truce over comments made on a blog. Timmy, I’m not mad at you. It’s only a sports blog and so everything is all in good fun. Some co-workers just emailed me and asked if they can hang your last paragraph over their desks. I hope you don’t mind, I think I’ll make copies of it and use it as motivation.

        Best,
        David Kahn

  2. I can’t believe you guys spent all that effort on grammatical whosits and syntaxual whatits. Just look at me. I’m the best Sports Writer In The Nation and I don’t care about correctness or paragraph structure. I just have cute one liners.

    Stay classy Minnesota.

    – John

    • Kevin Finley

      Hey John,
      It was a good old fashion pissing contest that was filled with cheap shots and a lot of laughter. I shouldn’t speak for Timmy, but I had fun. I haven’t stopped laughing about Timmy’s last comment. Glad you found the blog and we’re always classy in Minnesota Ron Burgundy.

Leave a Reply

